If you have a concealed pistol license in Michigan, then you are free to carry your concealed weapon throughout the state. This means you can carry a gun with you while driving on streets or freeways, including rest areas, while shopping, eating at certain restaurants while walking in fairs and fairgrounds, neighborhood BBQs, many small (non-sports) entertainment facilities and many other places.
However, there are certain areas that are strictly excluded from your right to carry. These CPL exclusions are set forth in MCL sec. 28.425b.
If you possess a valid CPL, you may not carry a concealed pistol in any of the following places:
1) A school or school property. Bear in mind that although you may not enter a school with your weapon, if you are a parent or legal guardian of a student at that school then you may carry a concealed pistol while in a vehicle on school property so long as you are either dropping the student off at the school or picking up the student from the school.
2) A public or private child care center or day care center, public or private child caring institution, or public or private child placing agency
3) A sports arena or stadium or any size, sport or division, whether professional, collegiate, or amateur.
4) A bar or tavern licensed under the Michigan liquor control code, where the primary source of income of the business is the sale of alcoholic liquor by the glass and consumed on the premises. This means you can carry your weapon in a restaurant so long as it does not otherwise meet this definition.
5) Any property or facility owned or operated by a church, synagogue, mosque, temple, or other places of worship, unless the presiding official or officials of the church, synagogue, mosque, temple, or other places of worship permit the carrying of concealed pistol on that property or facility.
6) An entertainment facility with a seating capacity of 2,500 or more individuals that the individual knows or should know has a seating capacity of 2,500 or more individuals or that has a sign above each public entrance stating in letters not less than 1-inch high a seating capacity of 2,500 or more individuals.
7) A hospital.
8) A dormitory or classroom of a community college, college, or university.
9) “Weapons are not permitted in any courtroom, office, or other space used for official court business or by judicial employees unless the chief judge or other person designated by the chief judge has given prior approval consistent with the court’s written policy.”
If you violate this law, then you are guilty of a civil infraction, and you will lose your CPL license for at least 6 months. That’s for a first offense. If you’re charged a second time, the penalty goes up because it’s 90-day misdemeanor. Your CPL will also be revoked. If you somehow still manage to get a new CPL, and violate this law three more times, then you will be charged with a felony. It’s not clear how anyone could violate this law three times since the CPL is revoked after two, but if it were to happen, then the third or subsequent time is a felony.