Michigan DUI Child Custody and Divorce

If you are a parent, an OWI conviction in Michigan can impact your relationship with your children. For example, if you are divorced and have a custody arrangement with your former spouse, an DUI conviction could be used to convince a judge to restrict your custody or visitation rights. If you are considering adopting a child, a drunk driving conviction could negatively affect your adoption application.

Michigan OWI Child Endangerment

In Michigan, if you are charged with OWI and had a passenger under the age of 16 in the car at the time of the arrest, you could be charged with OWI Child Endangerment.

A first-offense OWI Child Endangerment is considered a misdemeanor and carries the following penalties:

  • fine between $200- $1,000 plus court costs
  • 30- 90 days community service
  • revocation of driver’s license
  • prison sentence between five days and one year (minimum two days served)

A second OWI Child Endangerment offense is considered a felony and carries the following punishments:

  • fine of up to $5,000 plus court costs
  • 12 to 60 days imprisonment
  • probation
  • community service