On July 1, 2001, Michigan’s new concealed carry law went into effect. With this new law, Michigan effectively became a “shall issue” state, meaning everyone not otherwise excluded by law is entitled to obtain a license allowing them to carry a concealed weapon.
To obtain a concealed pistol license or CPL, you must file an application with the county clerk where you reside. The Concealed pistol license application can be download here or on the state police website, but should not be signed until you file it. You will then be placed under oath by the clerk, after which you will sign your application in their presence. A $100.00 filing fee is due at this time. Additionally, you must have your fingerprints taken, and there is an additional $15.00 fee for this service. Your application is not complete until your fingerprints are taken. In most instances, the county clerk will direct you the nearby county sheriff location where your fingerprints will be taken. Other possible locations for fingerprints include county the state police, local police agency, or other entity that provides fingerprinting services.
In addition to the application and fingerprints, you must also present a certificate indicating that you’ve attended an approved appropriate pistol safety training course or class. These classes include information about gun safety, use of force law, and range training where you will shoot a pistol under the supervision of an instructor.
Additionally, you must be at least 21 years old, and a resident of the state of Michigan for at least six months prior to filing your application. You prove your residency by providing valid, lawfully obtained Michigan driver’s license or official Michigan personal identification card and/or demonstrating that you are lawfully registered to vote in Michigan.
Although Michigan is a “shall issue” state, there are many things that make a person ineligible to obtain a CPL. These include those who are mentally ill or legally incapacitate, subject to a personal protection order, you have never been dishonorably discharged from the armed services and you have never been found not guilty of a crime because of insanity.
In addition to these mental-health requirements or exclusions, many types of criminal convictions will also make you ineligible. You may not obtain a CPL in Michigan if you’ve ever been found guilty of a felony of any kind. Certain kinds of firearms laws violations also make you ineligible. There is also a long list of misdemeanor convictions that make you indelible for a period of either 8 years or 3 years, depending on the crime. If you have been convicted of any misdemeanor in the past 8 years then it’s best to check with the state police and/or a qualified attorney before you attempt to file your application.
The State of Michigan generally has 45 days to either issue you your CPL or notify you of your statutory disqualification. If you’ve received neither within the 45-day time period, then your receipt from your CPL application will serve as your temporary CPL until such time as you do receive your notice. If you are denied a CPL, then you have a right to appeal this denial, and it is highly recommended that you retain a lawyer for this purpose.