Contact
How can we help?
(248) 602-2799
Attorney

Grand Rapids Domestic Violence with Injury Lawyer

Being charged with domestic violence can be confusing and stressful. The most important thing for you to do in this situation is to avoid panicking and instead, take the steps necessary to protect your rights.

With the right legal strategy and negotiating power of a Grand Rapids domestic violence with injury lawyer on your side, you could place yourself in a stronger position to resolve the criminal charges positively. The skilled domestic violence attorneys could address any of your concerns about the potential penalties of domestic violence charges and guide you through the process of dealing with your charges.

Domestic Violence Laws in Grand Rapids

All criminal offenses involving domestic violence are categorized under assault and battery laws in the state of Michigan. According to Michigan Penal Code Section 750.81, individuals can be charged with domestic violence if they commit assault or battery towards the following individuals:

  • Current or former spouses
  • Current or former boyfriends or girlfriends
  • Individuals with whom they share a child
  • Current or former household members
  • Any individuals who are pregnant

A first charge of domestic assault or battery causing minor injuries is a misdemeanor and can result in a jail sentence of up to 93 days and a fine of up to $500, or both. For individuals who commit domestic violence and who have a previous conviction for domestic violence, the criminal offense still is a misdemeanor, but the penalties increase to a sentence of incarceration of up to one year or a fine of up to $1,000, or both.

A third or subsequent domestic violence offense elevates the charge to a felony, with a potential penalty of imprisonment for not more than five years or a fine of up to $5,000, or both. Additional possible penalties for a domestic violence with injury conviction include up to 24 months of reporting to a probation officer on a monthly basis, completion of community service hours, and attendance at an anger management or domestic violence awareness class.

Given the severity of the potential penalties for a domestic violence conviction, enlisting the services of a Grand Rapids domestic violence with injury lawyer could be essential to your case.

Charges for Aggravated Domestic Violence

If the other party in a domestic violence offense sustains serious or aggravated injury, and the offense occurs without the use of a weapon or an intent to commit murder or serious bodily harm, Michigan Penal Code Section 750.81a deems this a misdemeanor charge. The penalties for this offense include up to one year of imprisonment or a $1,000 fine, or both.

A second or subsequent conviction for aggravated domestic violence can result in a felony charge, which carries a penalty of up to five years in jail or a fine of up to $5,000, or both.

Collateral Consequences of Domestic Violence Convictions

Aside from the potential punishments outlined above, there may be collateral consequences for anyone who is convicted of domestic violence with injury. For instance, federal law prohibits anyone who is convicted of domestic violence from owning, possessing, or purchasing a firearm or ammunition.

Likewise, those convicted of domestic violence often are subject to personal protection orders (PPOs), which are civil orders to stay away from people harmed from domestic violence. Violation of a civil PPO can result in additional criminal charges and penalties.

Let a Grand Rapids Domestic Violence with Injury Attorney Help

Contact a Grand Rapids domestic violence with injury lawyer today for more information about your rights and responsibilities. Attorneys could discuss how they can help you with your domestic violence with injury charges, which may involve discussing the facts of the case, framing them favorably in court, and negotiating with the prosecutor and judge. A lawyer could aggressively advocate on your behalf and work toward a positive resolution of your charges.