Contact
How can we help?
(248) 602-2799
Attorney

Oakland County Theft Lawyer

If you are charged with any type of theft in Michigan, it is normal to feel frightened and uncertain. Individuals convicted of theft can face a myriad of penalties ranging from large fines to jail time, and if you have a previous conviction on your record, the judge may choose to punish you more severely.

Theft charges are serious, and if you do not have the legal guidance and experience to defend yourself against your charges, you will be at a grave disadvantage in court. If you have been charged with shoplifting, robbery, identity theft, fraud, embezzlement, and/or carjacking, you may need the aid of an Oakland County theft lawyer. Contact a distinguished criminal attorney to learn more about the various types of theft charges and their legal consequences in the state of Michigan.

Misdemeanor Theft Charges

In the state of Michigan, there are two different types of misdemeanor theft charges. Petty theft or larceny involves taking an item or service that has a value of less than $200. Individuals convicted of petty theft can face a sentence of up to 93 days in jail and a fine of up to $500 (no more than three times the price of the good or service stolen).

Second-degree theft involves taking an item or service valued between $200 and $1000. Individuals convicted of second-degree theft may face a sentence of up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2000. If a person hopes to avoid a conviction for either charge, they may want to contact an Oakland County theft lawyer.

Felony Theft Charges

As the name suggests, felony theft charges can result in a felony conviction. If an individual is believed to have taken a product or service that is valued between $1000 and $20,000, they may be required to spend up to five years in jail and pay a fine of up to $10,000.

If a person is charged with stealing an automobile or any part of an automobile, they will automatically face felony theft charges (even if the automobile or part is valued at less than $1000). A second-degree felony theft charge (stealing an item valued $20,000 or more), can result in up to 10 years in jail and a fine of $15,000.

The Impact of Prior Convictions

If an individual has been previously convicted of a theft offense, they will certainly need the aid of an Oakland County theft lawyer in court. Individuals with prior convictions will face harsher penalties, regardless of the type of offense they are believed to have committed. In Michigan, each successive theft conviction warrants a punishment suitable for the next highest category crime.

If a person is convicted of petty larceny, and they have been convicted of the same crime before, they will automatically be punished as if they were convicted of second-degree misdemeanor theft. Instead of serving 93 days in jail, they may be required to serve a one-year sentence. Fighting theft charges may seem futile, but with the help of an Oakland County theft lawyer, you can ensure that your rights are respected in court.