Contact
How can we help?
(248) 602-2799
Attorney

Plymouth Second-Offense DUI Lawyer

The possible consequences of a DUI conviction are always severe, but a second conviction within seven years can have catastrophic results. Since the outcome of a second DUI arrest can be so devastating, you may want to consider enlisting the assistance of an experienced DUI attorney.

A Plymouth second-offense DUI lawyer may be able to examine the facts surrounding your arrest and determine whether any technical or constitutional violations occurred. In performing this analysis, you may be able to discern the most effective course of action to defend yourself against these charges.

Operating While Intoxicated in Plymouth

Under Michigan Compiled Laws ยง257.625(1), operating while intoxicated (OWI) occurs when individuals are operating motor vehicles while they are:

  • Under the influence of alcohol, controlled substances, or a combination of alcohol and drugs, or
  • Have blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or greater

Drivers whose BAC results are this level or above can face DUI charges even if they do not show any signs of impairment from alcohol. Law enforcement officers use breath, blood, or urine testing to measure the BAC of drivers suspected of OWI. However, other measures such as personal observations and field sobriety testing also may constitute evidence of impairment in DUI cases, as a seasoned second-offense DUI lawyer in Plymouth could affirm.

Second Offenses DUI Penalties

When individuals accrue a second OWI conviction within seven years, whether in Michigan or another state, they can face many of the same penalties as they would for a first conviction. Generally, however, potential jail terms and license sanctions are longer are more severe, fines are higher, and probation requirements are tougher to meet following a second conviction.
For example, a second DUI conviction within seven years in the State of Michigan requires a minimum jail sentence of five days and a maximum sentence of one year, as opposed to a maximum sentence of 93 days for a first offense. Similarly, fines for a second DUI conviction can range from $200 to $1,000.

You will additionally face a license revocation of at least one year that will not result in automatic restoration and may require installation of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID). Other penalties for a second OWI conviction can include 30 to 90 days of community service and vehicle immobilization or forfeiture.

While the potential consequences for an OWI conviction are typically severe, a second conviction within seven years can have a devastating impact on your professional and personal life. Due to the gravity of this situation, anyone facing a second OWI offense in Plymouth may wish to get the advice of a lawyer experienced with these types of cases. Even if your prior offense is more than seven years old, the judge can still use your prior as a consideration for imposing more draconian sentences, including increased jail time.

Call a Plymouth Second-Offense DUI Attorney for Advice

Although a second DUI conviction within seven years remains a misdemeanor offense under state law, it can still wreak havoc on your personal and professional life. A Plymouth second-offense DUI lawyer may be able to help you build a strong defense to these serious charges.

By seeking legal counsel, you can better protect your constitutional rights throughout every step of your criminal proceedings. Having the information and advice that you need during this critical period in your life can be instrumental to reaching a positive outcome in your case, so call today to schedule an initial consultation.