Contact
How can we help?
(248) 602-2799
Attorney

Kent County Traffic Lawyer

Traffic violations occur every day. While an annoyance, violations left unresolved can often morph into expensive and time-consuming issues – sometimes simply because the proper procedures have not been followed.

If you have been issued a traffic violation, contact an experienced Kent County traffic lawyer to review the violation and determine if you may have defenses against it. An experienced traffic defense attorney can help decide the best cause of action to resolve the matter.

Common Traffic Violations

Traffic violations come in all shapes and sizes, from simple speeding tickets to driving under the influence (DUI) infractions. Some of the most common Kent County traffic violations include:

  • Distracted driving (including texting or talking on a cell phone while driving)
  • Driving with a suspended license
  • Driving without a license
  • DUI
  • Hit & run
  • Insurance violations
  • OWI (Operating While Intoxicated)
  • OWPD (Operating With the Presence of Drugs)
  • OWVI (Operating While Visibly Impaired)
  • Reckless or aggressive driving
  • Running a red light
  • Speeding

In Michigan, traffic violations can be classified as misdemeanors or felonies. Whatever the case, it is important to keep in mind that some types of violations have significant consequences, including points and higher insurance rates.

Points on Driving Record

Most traffic violations can add points to a person’s driving record and put their ability to maintain a license in jeopardy. In Michigan, an individual will receive a warning letter if they receive eight points within a two-year time frame.

Receiving 12 points within a two-year time frame may result in the state reviewing a driver’s record and taking further action, such as suspending their license, requiring that they take a driver safety course, or something similar.

According to the Secretary of State, Michigan applies points to these infractions:

  • Two Points:
    • 10 mph or less over the legal speed limit
    • Open alcohol container in vehicle
    • All other moving violations of traffic laws
    • Refusal of Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by a driver under age 21
  • Three Points:
    • Careless driving
    • Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign or improper passing
    • 11 through 15 mph over the legal speed limit
    • Failure to stop at railroad crossing
    • Failure to stop for a school bus or for disobeying a school crossing guard
  • Four Points:
    • Drag racing
    • Operating while visibly impaired
    • Under age 21 with any blood alcohol content
    • 16 mph or more over the legal speed limit
    • Failure to yield or show due caution for emergency vehicles
  • Six Points:
    • Manslaughter, negligent homicide, or other felony involving use of a motor vehicle
    • Operating under the influence of liquor or drugs
    • Failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash
    • Reckless driving
    • Unlawful blood alcohol content of 0.08 or more
    • Refusal to take a chemical test
    • Fleeing or eluding a police officer

Higher Insurance Rates

Most insurance companies raise rates for those who have points on their records. The theory is simple: points represent violations based on unsafe driving habits.

Unsafe drivers have a higher tendency to be in accidents, so insurance companies consider them to be a greater risk. They transfer that risk to the driver in the form of higher premiums. So, resolving traffic violations can save a driver money in the long run.

How a Kent County Traffic Attorney Can Help

If you have been issued a traffic violation, you must generally respond within 10 to 21 days. Failure to do so could result in the suspension of your driving privileges. Contact a Kent County traffic lawyer today to maintain your ability to drive on Michigan’s roadways.