Contact

How can we help?

(248) 602-2799
Attorney

DUI Causing Death or Injury in Michigan

Michigan enforces strict penalties for those who are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI). However, if you are found guilty of drunk driving and were involved in an accident that resulted in the serious injury or death of another person, you will face a felony charge, which carries significantly steeper penalties.

It is important to note that you may face a felony charge for causing the serious injury or death of another person regardless of whether you were operating while intoxicated (OWI), operating while visibly impaired (OWVI), operating with a presence of drugs (OWPD), or operating with a suspended, revoked, or denied license.

Penalties for Causing Injury or Death

If you are involved in an accident while driving under the influence, you may face the following penalties for causing personal injury or death:

  • Prison sentence of up to five years and a fine between $1,000 and $5,000 for the serious injury of another person
  • Prison sentence of up to 15 years and a fine between $2,500 and $10,000 for the death of another person
  • Prison sentence of up to 20 years and a fine between $2,500 and $10,000 for the death of an emergency responder
  • Revocation of your driver’s license for a minimum of one year; if you had a prior revocation within the past seven years, the minimum revocation will be five years
  • Immobilization of your vehicle for 180 days
  • Confiscation of your license plate
  • Six points added to your Michigan state driving record
  • $1,000 Driver Responsibility fee for two consecutive years

Higher Penalties for High BAC

If you are involved in an accident that causes serious injury or death and your blood alcohol content was .17 or higher, you will face an additional five years of imprisonment added to the maximum allowable sentence.

Penalties for Causing Property Damage

If you are involved in an accident while driving under the influence, you may face the following penalties for causing property damage:

  • Jail sentence of up to 93 days
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • Fine of up to $500
  • 30 day suspension of driver’s license followed by 150 days of license restrictions
  • Six points on your Michigan state driving record
  • Driver Responsibility fee of $1,000 for two consecutive years

In addition to these penalties, the owners of the damaged property could bring a civil lawsuit against you. This could cost you further in time and money spent in court costs, legal fees, and potentially restitution toward the damages.