Contact
How can we help?
(248) 602-2799
Attorney

Novi First-Offense DUI Lawyer

Adults often enjoy having alcoholic refreshments but getting behind the wheel after even one drink could be perilous and lead to a driving under the influence (DUI) charge. Even one DUI on your permanent criminal record could dramatically affect your life with fines, license suspension, raised insurance rates, and potentially even up to 93 days in jail. This is because DUI convictions can never be expunged or otherwise removed from your record.

If you have just been given your first operating while under the influence (OWI) charge, speak with a Novi first-offense DUI lawyer to see what legal options you have and protect your rights. Any action you take when handling this type of criminal case without the help of a seasoned DUI lawyer may compromise your ability to mount a defense.

DUI/OWI Laws in Novi

There are various rules and statutes related to the control of a vehicle and alcohol, listed in Michigan Code §257.625. The law prohibits the operation of a vehicle while:

  • Under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or both
  • Having a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or more
  • Having an elevated blood alcohol content of 0.17 or more
  • Allowing a drunk person to drive their car
  • Driving while visibly impaired

Contact a well-versed defense attorney to learn more about DUI/OWI laws and penalties.

Refusal to Take Breathalyzer Test

If a police officer administers a breath or blood alcohol test to the driver to determine intoxication, any reading or evidence collected can be used against the defendant in court. If a driver refuses to submit to a breath or blood test, they are alleged to have violated Michigan’s Implied Consent law. Such a violation is a civil offense separate from the underlying criminal case, and if the driver does not successfully contest this allegation after requesting a hearing within 14 days, the Secretary of State will suspend the driver’s license for one year.

Penalties for First-Offense DUI

Even the first time a court convicts a driver of a DUI, the consequences are still severe. The court may sentence the driver to jail for up 93 days and pay up to $500 in fines. Convicted drivers may also need to perform up to 360 hours of community service and temporarily lose the right to operate their car. If the judge orders probation, the court may also require a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) forcing them to prove sobriety to operate their vehicle.

If the court finds a driver guilty of operating a vehicle while visibly impaired, the court may require the same jail time and car immobilization and as a testing condition for bond or probation, may also order a BAIID. Also, the maximum fine is $300. After a conviction for an intoxicated DUI offense, the Michigan Secretary of State suspends the driver’s license for 30 days. Afterward, the state may restrict the driver’s privileges for 150 days. For an impaired DUI offense, the license is restricted for 90 days. Individuals facing these penalties should retain an experienced first-offense DUI lawyer in Novi as soon as possible.

Fight a First-Offense DUI with a Novi Attorney

It may be tempting to plead guilty to a first offense if the prosecutor offers you what sounds like a good deal. However, your insurance premiums will likely increase, and you will be at increased risk if the police ever charge you with a second act of operating while intoxicated. If an employer learns about your criminal DUI record, they also may reject you. But there’s still hope. A Novi first-offense DUI lawyer could help you understand the law and protect your rights and future. Call a seasoned DUI attorney today to build a defense for your charges.