How can we help?
(248) 602-2799

Plymouth Assault Lawyer

If you are facing assault charges, you may be unsure of your next step. Any accusation could have long-term effects on your reputation, freedom, and security. In this case, it is wise to familiarize yourself with the law behind assault charges and their potential repercussions. Fortunately, you do not have to navigate the complicated legal system alone.

A Plymouth assault lawyer may be able to provide the knowledge and support needed to fight for a favorable outcome. Assault charges may have an impact beyond initial criminal penalties, such as damaging one’s reputation. Having a dedicated criminal lawyer on your side could aid in building the strongest defense possible.

Assault Charges in Plymouth

Assault charges in Michigan are very serious. They may potentially include battery, which relies on the threat of offensive touch before an assault actually occurs. There are three types of assault outlined in Section 750.81 of Michigan’s Penal Code:

  • Assault, or assault and battery
  • Domestic violence
  • Assault of a pregnant person

Domestic violence is commonly associated with romantic partners. However, domestic violence may occur against anyone who is a current or former household member, including children. Whether an assault is considered assault of a pregnant person hinges on the alleged perpetrator is aware of the pregnancy. If the individual knew the other person was pregnant, they could face harsher penalties.

Many assaults are charged as misdemeanors for first offenses. Misdemeanor offenses may result in a jail sentence of up to three months, a fine of up to $500, or both. However, certain circumstances may impact sentencing. A Plymouth assault lawyer could outline factors, such as assault during another crime, that may cause the court to seek harsher penalties.

Penalties for Subsequent Convictions

If you are facing a new assault charge, but have prior assault convictions, it may be beneficial to contact an assault attorney Plymouth to discuss your next step. Prior assault convictions could affect how a new assault charge is sentenced.

Those who have been convicted of domestic violence or assault against a pregnant person could face different sentencing for a second offense. In these cases, anyone convicted could receive a sentence of up to one year in prison, a fine no higher than $1,000, or both.

Those who have two convictions for domestic violence or assault against a pregnant person may face additional sentencing, such as a felony charge. Local felonies of this nature generally carry a maximum prison sentence of five years, fines of no greater than $5,000, or both.

Consult with a Plymouth Assault Attorney

Since assault charges are usually misdemeanor offenses, most individuals think they are minor charges. However, penalties can quickly escalate, and any criminal charge could carry permanent and potentially devastating effects.

An assault charge may lead to a lengthy and expensive court battle that disrupts your personal life. Being convicted of misdemeanor assault may also impact civil disputes, including divorce proceedings or custody decisions. Finally, a conviction may create a criminal record that dramatically affects your relationships, ability to find work or a place to live, and freedom.

If you were charged, you should not delay in seeking legal representation. A skilled Plymouth assault lawyer may be able to consult on a situation and help prevent attacks on your freedom.

During a consultation, you may be able to explain the situation that brought assault charges while an attorney provides insight into how the law pertains to your unique case. Reach out to begin fighting for your rights today.