Contact
How can we help?
(248) 602-2799
Attorney

Plymouth DUI Lawyer

An accusation of driving while intoxicated by alcohol or drugs could put you at risk for losing your money, your driver’s license, and even your freedom. However, if you are charged with driving under the influence (DUI) or other related violations, you may be able to positively influence your case by contacting a dedicated criminal defense attorney.

A skilled Plymouth DUI lawyer could help explain different legal options that could benefit your case and improve your chances for a successful outcome in court. Additionally, there may be defenses that are uncommon but effective for a DUI case that a skilled criminal attorney could help you examine.

What Drivers Should Know About DUI Law

In Michigan, a breakdown of the expansive laws related to driving while impaired can be found on the Secretary of State’s website. The specific applicable legal codes, meanwhile, can be found in Michigan Penal Code §257.625. Potential criminal charges related to driving while intoxicated include:

  • Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI)
  • Operating While Intoxicated (OWI)
  • Operating With Any Presence of a Schedule 1 Drug or Cocaine (OWPD)
  • Under Age 21 Operating With Any Bodily Alcohol Content (Zero Tolerance)

According to Michigan law, if a person is visibly impaired, law enforcement officers can charge that person with Operating While Visibly Impaired under MI Pen. Code §257.625(2)(c).

What are Common DUI Charges?

As a Plymouth DUI lawyer knows, there are three levels of Operating While Intoxicated charges in Michigan. These include driving with any amount of alcohol or drugs in the body that have a substantial effect on a person’s ability to operate a vehicle, having a bodily alcohol content (BAC) of at least 0.08, and having a BAC of at least 0.17.

The state of Michigan can also charge a person with OWPD if they have any trace amount of a Schedule 1 Drug—such as cocaine—in their system while driving, even if the drug has not affected the person’s ability to drive. The police can arrest anyone under the age of 21 caught driving with any amount of alcohol in their system.

Penalties for Impaired Driving Offenses

For a first conviction, someone convicted of driving under the influence could have their driver’s license suspended for six months. If the government charges a driver with a high BAC crime, their driver’s license may be suspended for one year. However, depending on which level of DUI you are charged and your prior record, you could be eligible to get a restricted license after 30 or 45 days of having a suspended license, respectively.

For a second conviction, an individual could face five days to one year of time in jail or 30 to 90 days of community service. If you caused bodily injury to another person or is facing a third conviction, then a prosecutor can upgrade your charge from a misdemeanor to a felony. Along with these penalties, there are also costly fees associated with having a driver’s license reinstated.

Speak with a Plymouth DUI Attorney

A criminal charge of driving under the influence can result in serious penalties, and you may need to fight aggressively to protect your rights and interests. A skilled criminal attorney could help identify valid defenses that may be available and applicable to your case.

Since court proceedings can quickly become frustrating and complex, it could be extremely advantageous for you to have an experienced legal representative who can explain the laws and procedures in Plymouth. Contact a Plymouth DUI lawyer today for more information about how to combat the charges.