Contact
How can we help?
(248) 602-2799
Attorney

Plymouth Prostitution Lawyer

Though prostitution is decriminalized in some places, Plymouth law still classifies it as a criminal act. However, misinterpreted actions and misunderstandings may result in unwarranted prostitution charges. A local criminal lawyer may help an accused person understand and fight the unique laws in Plymouth.

Facing a criminal charge can be stressful, especially if there is a potential threat to your freedom or personal reputation. Fortunately, a Plymouth prostitution lawyer could help guide you through legal proceedings. In addition to explaining the laws behind a charge, a seasoned criminal defense attorney could prepare an aggressive defense to help you fight charges and mitigate consequences.

State Prostitution Laws

While the state legislature has not legally defined prostitution, the method of committing prostitution is outlined by Michigan’s legal code, under Section 750.448. This statute criminalizes accosting, soliciting, or inviting another person to engage in prostitution or other sexual conduct. This includes word of mouth, direct invitation, or any other means, including online.

Certain aggravating factors in a situation, such as the involvement of a minor, may require additional police involvement and further reports. This is to help protect vulnerable individuals and those who may become victims of human trafficking.

Regardless of how prostitution occurs, an officer’s misunderstanding about intention or the relationship between two consenting individuals may lead to unjustified prostitution charges. Anyone facing charges may wish to discuss a case with a Plymouth prostitution attorney who can begin developing a sharp defense.

Potential Penalties for a Prostitution Conviction

The Michigan Penal Code details the penalties related to prostitution charges, including aggravating factors that could result in more severe penalties. A dedicated prostitution attorney in Plymouth could assess if any of these additional factors apply to your unique situation.

First Offense

First offenses are generally punished as misdemeanors by the Wayne County justice system. These actions may result in no more than three months in jail and a fine of up to $500.

Second Offense

While a second offense could still be charged as a misdemeanor, a prior conviction may increase potential penalties. The penalty for a second offense may be up to one year in jail and fines of no more than $1,000. To pursue these elevated consequences, the prosecution must present evidence of an individual’s prior conviction. This may include:

  • Copy of the conviction
  • Transcript of a prior trial, plea, or sentencing
  • Information contained in a presentence report
  • The defendant’s statement

Third Offense

Those who have more than two prostitution convictions could face felony charges on their third offense. These charges carry more severe consequences, such as a sentence of up to two years in jail and fines up to $2,000.

Any of these charges may result in the creation of a criminal record. Though misdemeanor offenses may not carry extremely harsh criminal penalties, a record can directly impact an individual’s ability to seek employment or secure housing. As a result, anyone facing charges may wish to speak with a dedicated lawyer before deciding how to proceed.

Allow A Plymouth Prostitution Attorney to Be an Advocate

Regardless of the charge you are facing, you do not have to work through the judicial system alone. An aggressive Plymouth prostitution attorney can explain Michigan’s prostitution laws and how to best mitigate potential consequences. Before making a decision regarding your next step, reach out to schedule a free consultation and discuss your case with a legal professional.