Contact
How can we help?
(248) 602-2799
Attorney

Kent County Gun Lawyer

The right to possess and use firearms is one of the most controversial in Michigan, so the state laws regulating the circumstances under which guns may be owned and operated are complex. In addition, Kent County imposes its own restrictions and requirements for firearm ownership and use.

With all the complicating factors, it is easily possible for an individual to violate the gun laws in Kent County without even being aware of any wrongdoing.

Because of the controversy surrounding guns, however, penalties for violations can be severe. So, if you have been charged with an offense involving firearms or are facing difficulties obtaining or maintaining a CPL, you should consult an experienced Kent County gun lawyer. A qualified defense attorney can help you learn how to protect your rights.

Most Common Gun Violations

With so many state, federal and local laws in place, the possibilities for firearms violations seem virtually limitless. However, certain violations are more common than others, so there is a greater body of law established concerning these offenses. Some of the most common criminal gun-related charges in Kent County involve instances in which an individual:

  • Carries a firearm into a place where guns are prohibited
  • Has a prior felony conviction and is found to be in possession of a firearm
  • Carries a concealed weapon without a valid permit/license
  • Commits a felony while possessing a firearm
  • Is found to possess a prohibited type of firearm

While some of these offenses may be treated as misdemeanors, others are felonies with very serious penalties.

Prohibited Firearm Zones

Section 750.234d of the Michigan criminal code prohibits all individuals, including those with a concealed pistol license (CPL), from bringing firearms into certain locations. These include:

  • Banks
  • Churches
  • Courthouses
  • Theaters
  • Sports arenas
  • Day care centers
  • Hospitals
  • College dormitory or classroom
  • Certain types of restaurants and bars that sell alcoholic beverages
  • Casinos

This restriction does not apply to law enforcement officials, security personnel, those with concealed carry licenses or those possessing firearms with the permission of the owner of the premises. Violation of this statute is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $100.

Concealed Weapons Statute

Michigan laws pertaining to concealed weapons generally apply to knives and pistols. A pistol is defined by ยง750.222 of the Michigan criminal code as a firearm that is 26 inches long or less or one that “by its construction and appearance conceals itself as a firearm.” It may be loaded or unloaded. The definition of a pistol under federal law is slightly different.

Except for those with CPLs, Michigan law forbids an individual from carrying a pistol concealed on the body or carrying a pistol in a vehicle. However, this restriction does not apply in the individual’s dwelling place or business. Those carrying concealed weapons with a permit are required to abide by any restrictions placed on the license.

Violation of this statute is a felony punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $2,500.

Contact a Kent County Gun Attorney Today

When dealing with such a unique area of law, it is imperative to work with an attorney who understands the intricacies of the laws and how they have been applied in situations such as yours.

A knowledgeable Kent County gun lawyer will know the most effective steps to take to preserve your rights and help reach the best possible resolution of your case. Contact today to put their experience to work for you.