Contact
How can we help?
(248) 602-2799
Attorney

Plymouth DUI Charges and Penalties

Most states have established harsh penalties for DUI, and Michigan is no exception. If you are convicted of even a first-time OWI, you can face fines, license suspension, and even jail time, among other sanctions.

Since Plymouth DUI charges and penalties can be severe, you are likely to need the advice of an experienced DUI attorney. By getting the help of a criminal defense lawyer, you could get answers to your questions about the criminal charges that you are facing, learn about all the available options for relief, and determine the best defense strategy for you.

Operating While Intoxicated Charges and Penalties

Under Michigan Compiled Laws §257.625(1), individuals may not operate motor vehicles in public places when they are intoxicated. Operating while intoxicated (OWI) can occur when individuals are under the influence of alcohol or if their blood alcohol content (BAC) measures .08 percent or higher.

A first-time OWI charge can result in a maximum jail sentence of 93 days. Drivers convicted of first-time OWI may also receive a 30-day license suspension, followed by 150 days of restricted driving. Other potential penalties for OWI can include payment of fines, completion of community service hours, and mandatory attendance at an alcohol education class.

Charges for Operating While Visibly Impaired in Plymouth

Individuals can face criminal charges of operating while visibly impaired (OWVI) if they have consumed alcohol to the point that it impairs their ability to drive safely. Mich. Comp. Laws §257.625(3) establishes OWVI as a lesser offense than OWI, in that it does not require individuals to have a BAC of .08 percent or higher.

Persons convicted of OWVI may receive a jail sentence of up to 93 days, fines, and community service hours, just as for an OWI conviction. However, this offense does not add as many points to your driver’s license, and you would have a shorter period of license restriction with no suspension.

Enhanced Charges and Penalties for OWI with BAC of .17 or Greater

If individuals charged with a first-time OWI offense have a BAC measurement of .17 percent or higher, they may be subject to enhanced penalties. This crime is sometimes called “super drunk” or “high BAC OWI” and individuals in this situation can face up to 180 days in jail, as well as a 45-day license suspension and a restricted driving period of 320 days. Following the license restriction and suspension, people also can be subject to mandatory ignition interlock devices on their vehicles.

OWI or OWVI Causing Death or Serious Injury

If an OWI or OWVI results in a fatal accident, the drunk driver who caused that crash may face up to 15 years in prison, a fine ranging from $2,500 to $10,000, or both. If OWI involves the death of an emergency responder, the potential prison sentence increases to 20 years. Injuries that result from an OWI or OWVI may cause drivers to face up to five years in prison, a fine ranging from $1,000 to $5,000, or both.

Additionally, these offenses can result in a license revocation for at least one year, or longer if there was a prior revocation within the past seven years. Finally, drivers may face the immobilization or forfeiture of their vehicles, as well as confiscation of their license plates.

Second or Subsequent OWI Offenses

If drivers have one prior conviction within the last seven years, they will face harsher penalties for an OWI conviction. The maximum fine will increase to $1,000, and the maximum jail sentence will increase to one year. License revocation may occur for a period of one or five years, depending on the circumstances and number of prior convictions within the prior 10 years.

A third OWI within one lifetime is a felony charge in Michigan. Drivers in this situation can be ordered to serve from one to five years in prison, complete 60 to 180 days of community service, and license revocation from one to five years. The penalties for a third DUI also may include vehicle immobilization, vehicle forfeiture, and license plate confiscation.

Learn about Plymouth Charges and Penalties for DUI

Plymouth DUI charges and penalties are no laughing matter, and the stakes get even higher if you have a previous conviction. Obtaining the assistance of legal counsel may be the most effective means of protecting your rights in this situation.

Minimizing your exposure to the potential consequences of a conviction can be instrumental in preserving your job, your family, and your freedom. Talk to a legal advocate today and learn about your various options.